Welcome to My Room

A peek into my diary.

lacey divider

October 2023

October 4, 2023

Apologies in advance for ranting, but there was a person on Tumblr who made a guide for lolita fashion and they were so wrong. They said that they had spent time around gyaru and lolitas in Japan since she was 4 and that she had first-hand experience. I don't fully believe her or am not sure who she hung out with. She also had this axe to grind saying that foreigners made the comm intolerable and were the reason why there are so many rules. I don't think that's true at all since a) Japanese lolitas were just as mean online as the foreign comm and b) I've seen Japanese lolita blogs that had the same rules as the foreign comm. She also advised the comm to buy dresses from Amazon, which is a bad idea. At worst case, you will get a dress that looks nothing like the picture and is a waste of your money. The best case is that it's a replica, which the comm is very against because it harms brands. I've been lurking around the comm for almost 10 years before finally getting a coord. The biggest lolita brands are not swimming in money and it's been heartbreaking watching stores almost close or struggle to keep open because replicas and lack of funds to keep going. In order to keep the fashion going, we need to keep supporting them when possible.

This person also refused to listen to anyone else when corrected and I really hated the fact that they don't understand the subculture aspect of the fashion. She also just gave bad advice and was kinda giving advice based on just vibes. Hopefully, people do more research and don't listen to her. But I'm also at the point where I know that every subculture has people like this and they'll cry about elitism and gatekeeping when that's not what's actually happening. The best you can do is give some correction and just move on. If someone really wants to learn about lolita fashion, they will. It just sucks to see that they clogged up the relevant tags with this nonsense.

In other news, I quit my job yesterday and I have about a month before my next one starts. I'm not entirely sure what to do with my time but I was planning to start sewing and other hobbies in the meantime. I will definitely also work more on my website. It's so exciting to have all this free time for myself. I can also wear my lolita outfits out more.

lacey divider

October 6, 2023

I got some recent purchases in the mail. From Lacemarket, I bought The Black Ribbon's Blue Apron. It's a really cute and I bought it specifically to wear with the Meta Violet Bouquet Skirt I have. I was a little worried in September that I wouldn't be able to wear anything without a blouse gaping due to how big my bust is. The apron really helps with that. I'm worried that I may be wearing it wrong. It's looser and sits lower on my torso than I would like. I'm not sure if I need to make another button hole, bring the waist of the apron down lower, or if it's supposed to be worn like that. Either way, it's really cute and I'm glad I was able to buy it. It makes me want to make my own but in a muted pink that usually associated with classic lolita.

Blouse: Amavel
Apron: The Black Ribbon
Skirt & Socks: Meta
Shoes: Koi Footwear

I made this coord with it. I had originally wanted the apron to make the skirt more classic looking, but it ends up reading very sweet. I think this is due to the Peter Pan collar, the large petti, and Mary Jane shoes I used. Either way, the coord is really cute and is perfect for a spring tea party. It also made me realize why people wear lolita blouses over brands like Axes Femme or Amavel. I see why they get them as they're a great budget option. But lolita blouses (the ones sold by brands) have a flare to them so they can be worn over a skirt without scrunching up weirdly. In my normal wardrobe, I don't tuck in shirts. I should but I hate how they rise up and the buttoned blouses with the gaps makes it look worse. I'll keep my eye out for white and ivory lolita blouses. For some reason, it's easier to find white long-sleeve blouses that fit my style rather than short sleeves or ivory ones. I hope Atelier Pierrot puts out an ivory blouse.

I also bought Meta's Frill Ribbon JSK in Beige. It was on sale and I think I bought the last one. As soon as I bought it, the dress icon on their website had a Out of Stock sign. I've very happy I bought this dress. While it's still pretty sweet leaning, it definitely has a classic vibe to it. Ultimately, it does remind me of sweet-classic and is just perfect for country lolita. I just need a hat to go with it, which I might DIY if I find a suitable hat. I also want to get a basket purse that I saw on depop that I can remake.

Blouse: Amavel
JSK & Socks: Meta
Shoes: Naturalizer

I coorded it very simply but it's quite long on me. I'm only 5' but it feels lower than it should. It's so long that it's hard to see the UTK socks I specifically got for it. The dress is supposed to be 100% cotton but it feels very polyesterish, especially when compared to the Violet's Bouquet skirt I have. I can't wait to pair this with the Calmato blouse from Atelier Pierrot that I have coming. It'll definitely up the classic part with the Ivory Apron I have coming. I'm also debating getting the white version but I'll wait until I actually have something to pair it with. I'm also excited to see how Haenuli's skirt and blouse will look.

I have so many things that I need to sell. When I was gettinsg into the fashion, I envisioned myself as a daily lolita and thought I'd need so many blouses. I'd settled for the cheaper blouses from Axes Femme and Amavel. Some are decent but I think they're more suitable for under jumperskirts and I don't need all of them. I also have shoes and cheap skirts. I have so much stuff I need to sell and I need to package them to photograph them to sell especially once I get that stain out of that IW dress.

October 23, 2023

My bf and I went to a resort for a weekend trip. I procrastinated packing the whole day and had to hurry up and pack in 30 minutes. :-: It was really fun. We rolled in on Friday night and just stayed in. On Saturday, we rode a steam train. I dressed up for it in Meta's Winter Special set in Beige and AtePie's Sweet Alyssum Cardigan. We took it really early in the day, which was a really good timing. It was scheduled to rain that day but we had finished the train ride by the time the rain started. My bf and I stayed in the rain to watch the train depart, which was really cool to see. I think it's something to try to do with the local comm if possible. We ate pretty early at the restaurant there and then had a couple's massage. It was my first massage ever and it was very relaxing. I definitely want to do it again.

Cardigan: Vallee Lys
Blouse: Amavel
JSK: Meta
Tights: Target
Shoes: Koi Footwear

We left early the next day and ate at a local smoothie shop on our way home. It wasn't the best. My smoothie somehow ended up tasting like Pepto Bismol ;-;. We also went to a new anime store, which was pretty cool. There was a section for legitimate anime merch and a section for Japanese food. I'm tempted to go back and try some of the food. I had a really fun weekend and I'd love to come back to it during the summer for better weather.

Home